Let’s BAKE! My Favorite Translucent Loose Setting Powder

What is baking? Baking as in cooking? Not quite… The baking I’m talking about is a term used in today’s modern day cosmetology techniques. “Baking” or “Cook[ing]” is a new term that is frequently used in today’s time in reference to its literal meaning. When you hear someone saying that they are going to bake their face they are actually just setting their face with a loose powder for several minutes, hence the term “baking” and “cook[ing]” is derived from. The purpose in baking is to set or lock your foundation or concealer in place so that it doesn’t crease throughout the day as well as allowing that part of your face in which you baked to appear more bright and radiant. It’s a win-win for all, no creases (or at least to minimal), a flawless finish, and leaving your skin to having a radiant and luminous soft finish.

Before I even knew how to bake myself and what the purpose of baking was, I believe I was already doing the trend before even trying to. I remember watching YouTube videos of makeup tutorials and mimicking the makeup gurus and using a highlighting powder from the KatVonD Shade + Light Contouring palette to set under my eyes to make it appear more bright. So I guess I was actually doing the trend without even trying to? How interesting as I cannot really recall how I came upon such techniques I’ve learned or whatsoever.

As I began to take on this new trend of baking, I knew I had to step up my game. After watching many YouTube videos of makeup gurus and studying which products were best for baking, I decided to try the Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder after hearing so many great reviews and such wonders it had. Although it was on the pricey side I was determined to get it.I eventually ordered one for myself online through Sephora’s website, the one place where I usually get all my makeup products from since they have just about anything. Nonetheless, after trying the loose setting powder I was in love! The Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder is actually the first loose setting powder I have ever purchased and used. When it comes to trying out other products that serve the same purpose I get a little iffy since not knowing which is good or not or if I would like it, but of course I’m open to try anything I haven’t tried although it may take me some time to adjust but that’s just me.

As you can already tell, I am beyond words for the Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder. I personally love it and believe it works wonders for me every time I use it. The powder is very loose, thick but lightweight, and really helps brighten up the face. The container size is perfect and is easy to handle and carry when traveling. It doesn’t have any smell to it either which I am so thankful for since I don’t really like smelly things unless it smells super pretty. One thing that I do try to do when using the Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder is try to conserve it as much of it as I can since the product is so loose and powdery that excess powder will eventually fall out when using it–but you know it’s kind of impossible (because the product is so expensive and your girl need to save!). I don’t know how most gals apply the setting powder with their teardrop beauty blenders so nice and evenly as I myself would prefer using a wedge sponge to do so. In my opinion by using a wedge sponge to apply the setting powder I can can better control how much powder I am picking up as well as applying the same amount under my eyes. I especially like using the wedge sponge to apply the loose setting powder under my contour as the wedge sponge has a sharp edge to it allowing me to have a more define and sharp contour appearance. There is no right or wrong way in which application to apply any loose setting powder although I myself just prefer using a wedge sponge.

If you’re looking for a good setting powder, I would recommend the Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder if you are willing to invest in it. It works wonders and the size and amount is plenty to last you a while though depending how much of it you use. I believe my very first one lasted me for a year as I just recently stocked back on it again. This is definitely one of my holy grails as well. I don’t know what I would do without it.

Leave a Reply

